← Back to Search Results
Document Retrieval

Procedure for the Establishment of a Firm and Lasting Peace in Central America (Esquipulas II)


This agreement seeks to provide the principles by which the conflicts in Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua will be resolved. Esquipulas II defined a number of measures to promote national reconciliation, an end to hostilities, democratization, free elections, the termination of all assistance to irregular forces, negotiations on arms controls, and assistance to refugees. It also laid the ground for international verification procedures and provided a timetable for implementation. The "Esquipulas II Accord" was signed in Guatemala City by the five presidents on 7 August 1987.

Download (Select Language):
Country / Entity: 
Costa Rica
El Salvador