← Back to Search Results
Document Retrieval

Ceasefire Agreement (Lusaka Agreement)


The Lusaka Agreement between the countries of Angola, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Namibia, Uganda, Rwanda and Zimbabwe, seeks to bring an end to the hostilities within the territory of the DRC. It addresses several issues including the cessation of hostilities, establishment of a joint military commission (JMC) comprising representatives of the belligerents, withdrawal of foreign groups, disarming, demobilizing and reintegrating of combatants, release of prisoners and hostages, re-establishment of government administration and the selection of a mediator to facilitate an all-inclusive inter-Congolese dialogue. The agreement also calls for the deployment of a UN peacekeeping force to monitor the ceasefire, investigate violations with the JMC and disarm, demobilize and reintegrate armed groups.

Download (Select Language):
Country / Entity: 
Democratic Republic of the Congo