Shillong Agreement between the Government of India and the Underground Nagas

Shillong, 11 November 1975

The following representatives of the underground organisations met the Governor of Nagaland, Shri L.P. Singh representing the Government of India, at Shillong on 10th and 11th November, 1975.

- 1. Shri. I. Temjenba
- 2. Shri. S. Dahru
- 3. Shri Veenyiyl Rhakhu
- 4. Shri. Z. Ramyo
- 5. Shri M. Assa
- 6. Shri Kevi Yallay
- 2. There was a series of four discussions. Some of the discussions were held with the Governor alone; at other, the Governor was assisted by the two Advisors for Nagaland, Shri M. Ramunny, and Shri. H. Zopianga, and Shri M.L. Kampani, Joint Secretary in the Ministry of Home Affairs. All the five members of the Liaison Committee, namely Rev. Longri Ao, Dr. M. Aram, Shri. L. Lungalang, Shri Kenneth Kerhuo, and Shri Lungshim Shaiza, participated in the discussions.
- 3. The following were the outcome of the discussions:
 - i. The representatives of the underground organisations conveyed their decision, of their own volition, to accept, without condition, the Constitution of India.
 - ii. It was agreed that the arms, now underground, would be brought out and deposited at appointed places. Details for giving effect of this agreement will be worked out between them and representatives of the Government, the security forces, and members of the Liaison Committee.
 - iii. It was agreed that the representatives of the underground organisations should have reasonable time to formulate other issues for discussion for final settlement.

Sd/- (I. Temjenba)

Sd/- (S. Dahru)

Sd/- (Z. Ramyo)

Sd/- (M. Assa)

Sd/- (Kevi Yalley)

On behalf of the Representative of the Underground organisations

Representative of Government of India Sd/-(L.P. Singh) On behalf of the Government of India

Source: The South Asia Terrorism Portal